In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Issues related to people in suburban areas are frequently discussed these days. It is undeniable that the number of people in rural areas is decreasing because they are relocating to towns nowadays. The desirable and undesirable impacts of this issue will be explained in this essay. Personally, despite the fact that this trend has some positives, I am convinced that there are a greater number of drawbacks. On one side of the argument, there are various advantages associated with the fact that the population in towns is rising more than in the past. One significant advantage is that cities would develop their infrastructure to support people. To illustrate, if the number of citizens in cities is increasing, the governments have to improve transportation and facilities in towns to support people. An additional merit is that the economic scale in the cities will expand, which means the government will get more tax from expenditures such as food and other things. On the other hand, I would argue that these advantages are outweighed by the undesirable impacts. One of the obvious negatives of this issue is the lower population in rural areas, especially farmers, because most rural areas have more farms than cities. This will lead to a shortage of crops. Another negative aspect is that the price of accommodations in towns will rise compared to the past. For example, Sydney is the city that has the most expensive rental rooms in the world because people from other countries move to this city, leading to a lack of accommodations. All things considered, I would like to reiterate that despite some positive aspects, it seems to me that the drawbacks of people leaving their rural areas are more significant for the reasons mentioned above. Therefore, I would suggest that governments should support rural people to encourage them not to leave their areas.