Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years there has been concern about how the digital age will change libraries. Some argue that since information of any field is readily available online, libraries are no longer necessary. In my view, however, libraries will stand the test of time for a number of reasons. To begin with, libraries serve as an oasis of peace amid the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Although the Internet makes it possible for students to read books or even attend classes in the comfort of their own home, such a condition is not conducive to learning. All too often, they are distracted by pop-ups, instant messages or computer games. By contrast, libraries provide an ideal environment in which students are able to concentrate on their work without the distraction of digital gadgets. Moreover, libraries are a better place to look for facts and figures. It is true that information is freely up for grabs online, but the reality is that a great deal of it can be inaccurate or even misleading. To give just one example, English learners searching for answers to grammatical problems on the Internet can sometimes be misinformed as most information online has never been verified. Libraries, on the other hand, contain hundreds of thousands of books that were edited before being published, and it is therefore wiser for students to search for information in the library than on the Internet. The fact that not all students have access to the Web also justifies the importance of the library. Statistics show that many poor countries are still lacking in basic internet infrastructure, making it difficult for their students to get information online. In these countries libraries play a crucial part in that they allow people to acquire knowledge and make progress in the technological era. To sum up, I believe that libraries are still indispensable despite rapid developments in internet technology.