Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that any source of news, such as newspapers or television programs is a waste of time and has no benefit to the general public but I strongly believe otherwise. Firstly, people should be aware and kept up-to-date about situations and issues happening across the world, whether they may or may not affect them directly and despite their age. Not only does this produce an overall more considerate society but, people also tend to be more educated and well-rounded. Secondly, many agree that it helps individuals improve their language skills in various ways. Such as broadening their vocabulary and getting to explore a wide range of sentence structures and new ways to express ideas differently. Last but not least, many people claim that reading the news has helped them pick up the habit of reading in general or allowed them to discover a new passion for a certain topic such as politics for instance. However, many argue that watching or reading the news can be boring as it is filled with a lot of uninteresting information. Moreover, many suggest that majority of broadcast outlets only cater to or target a specific audience such as older people and do not make any effort to try and get adolescence involved as well. In addition, a large proportion of the general public is either students or individuals with 9 to 5 jobs. This leaves many who do not have enough leisure time consequently, causing them to prefer spending the time they do have free on something more rewarding or interesting. In conclusion, although many argue that the news can be boring and unnecessary I think that it is a vital part of education as it is important to be aware of global issues affecting us now and those from the past.