In the past it was only possible to contact people at home by letter or telephone. Nowadays, mobile devices mean that we can communicate with people anywhere and at any time. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, telecom technologies, like smartphones, have brought many to our communication quality. Though some critics try to exaggerate the negative effects of these devices, I am aligned with those who believe that so successfully have mobile phones eased and improved peer-to-peer communication, their disadvantageous aspects could be considered negligible. To elaborate more, the critics' main concern refers to the privacy of the people. In other words, from their perspective, being accessible regardless of time and location could be detrimental to people's personal life. For instance, the industrial psychologist Alex Andrew, in comprehensive research on European female staff, found that there is a significant correlation between being accessible out of working hours via phone and suffering vulnerable relationships with their husband. In fact, having calls from their bosses even at late night, led to some disturbance in their intimate relationship. Some others, without refusing such minor resolvable side effects, believe that the fruitful role of cell phones in our lives should be admired overall. To shed light on one of the main optimistic group's opinions, focused on the beneficial aspects of cell phones for forging the relationship between people, it should be mentioned that, using cell phones people could reach out to their atomic family members throughout the day, even when they are in the bus moving toward their home. To exemplify, due to my heavy workload, I do not have enough time to call my mother, who resides in a different city, unless in my spare time like being in a taxi or metro. Honestly, neither I nor my mother, could not imagine how less frequently we could talk together in case that without the invention of the portable phone, I had to call him by the landline phone, considering my limited time. To conclude, according to the above explanations, in case we learn how to manage the negative consequences of cell phones by fostering appropriate culture, we should strongly say that humankind never has innovated any devices as fruitful as cell phones, particularly smart ones.