Some cities have few controls over design and construction on housing and office building. People think that they are free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, governments in different areas have put regulations for construction projects. Although some individuals think that those regulations restrict the freedom in designing their dream houses, I believe that these rules are there to ensure the stability of the building. In this essay, the major benefits and some drawbacks will be discussed. On the one hand, one of the major disadvantages of putting regulations is the lack of design freedom. Some individuals believe that they have the right to design their homes and workplaces the way they like. This means that, if those people paid enormous amounts to construct their buildings, they would want to have control over how these buildings look. For example, an article published by the BBC showed that a large number of homeowners are not satisfied with how their apartments ended up looking due to city regulations. Therefore, some people prefer to design their dream houses as they wish. On the other hand, the major benefit of having guidelines is safety and ensuring that the building is stable. In other words, if construction workers and design teams are left unsupervised by the government, they might design buildings that are not stable with no fail-safes in case of disaster. A prominent example of this is the collapse of numerous new buildings in Asyut, Egype, these buildings were not up to code. Hence, it is quintessential for engineers and construction workers to follow the guidelines that are put by the city. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that having some control over the building process is quintessential for the safety of the building. Although some individuals think that these rules restrict their freedom, I believe that these rules are put in to protect the lives of the families and workers who are in these buildings.