In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, the demographic changes lead to small family units or alone people instead of nuclear or extended families especially in cities. I believe that this trend is both positive and negative. Economically, the trend of lower population might be beneficial for governments and to some extent to individuals. If governments are coping with the distribution of limited resources, the trend of small families will positively effects on the economy of the country and solve economics problems in some cases. for example, this trend saves the country from food, energy and water shortage. Because if the resources are not proper for the people, the economic situations will be worse for them especially for extended families rather than the small or single one. In such situation, Small families or alone people can manage better their budget in the economic predicament than large families. Psychologically and behaviorally, alone people, small families and countries could be effected in some cases. Nowadays, as lonely people in cities are more than the past, they don’t have a great network of people or extended family to share their problems and feelings with them, they might suffer from depression and loneliness. In addition, in aggressive situation, such people may use too much alcohol or drugs for removing negative feelings. While if they had extended family, they could have shared problems with them. Additionally, In future, this demographic change may brings the problem of labour shortage for government, which can negatively affects on their economy. Small families, also, may have problem because in extended families, other members of the family are responsible for caring children's childrens after school. while in small families with busy parents, the children’s behaviour is being affected by the television, friends and the internet. Especially, when in the young ages, children cant distinguish between write and wrong, they may learn negative behavior. In conclusion, the demographic change to the small families or single people, is depend on the countries and their current and future situations and people.