More and more young people are using drugs and alcohol and as a result, breaking the law. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

It is said that an increasing number of young individuals are addicted to drinking and drugs, which are illegal. There are various factors that cause this matter, and also the government should take up the leadership role to mitigate this issue. First and foremost, teenagers feel stressed due to academics and thus they try to take pills and drink. It is true that students have to overcome countless homework and examination, especially under the exam-oriented education system, they have to work hard in order to get into the top program and universities, and therefore pupils feel extremely stressed. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 90% of youngsters have high anxiety and stress levels, which reveals that they have a higher chance to suffer from a mental breakdown. It is clear that teens tend to find some way to destress, and they choose to overdose on prescriptions and drink excessively. Moreover, they reckon that drug abuse and drinking are effective for them to stay away from the real world for a while, and thus they continue this bad habit. As a result, adolescents get in touch with medicine and alcohol due to stress and anxiety from academics. Nevertheless, the authority ought to organize campaigns, as well as, restrict the law in terms of the intake of drugs and alcohol. As we all know, organizing campaigns, such as giving talks concerning the dangers of taking pills and drinking or advertising, can raise the youth's awareness of the dangers of overusing medication. For instance, in Hong Kong, the police force will give talks concerning this topic in different schools regularly. In addition, the council can restrict the laws, like increasing the punishment in order to lower teenagers' incentive to form such kind of negative habits. On a whole, the government can undergo both soft and hard measures so as to diminish the number of youngsters engaged in this kind of activity, which hinders their health. In a nutshell, the rising stress level among students may encourage them to create worse habits, however, the authority can promote both soft and hard measures, such as organizing campaigns and restricting the rules, to mitigate the worse situation.