New Technologies change the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of these changes outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that with an advent of some newer technologies, the youngsters are spending their spare time differently. Though, it has some disadvantages, but the advantages outnumber them. The following essay is formed by discussing the merits and demerits of the aforementioned topic. Firstly, there are certain disadvantages of advancement in technology for children. As with an observed surge in the smart phones and laptops usage, parents are often worried, as a lot of screen time is considered to be harmful to their eyesight. Along with that, they have limited control over the content they are watching. For example, videos associated with gun shots promote voilence. Moreover, some content online is age-restricted and not suitable for the younger minds. So, these things promote the idea of restricted use of technology by children. On the other hand, there are numerous advantages, as there are millions of websites and youtube channels dedicated to educate children. For instance, in the pandemic, the online classrooms were the only source of learning skills and knowledge, for almost two years. Furthermore, they can learn any new skill, regardless of their subjects, online from video tutorial for free. In short, if used adequately, the benefits of technology are various. In conclusion, the newer technologies are troublesome for some children, but if used correctly, technology can be more beneficial than harmful.