In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kid of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times there has been a significant increase in health issues due to a larger consumption of junk food. There are some people who believe that the government should impose more taxes to overcome it. In my opinion, I believe that this step should be taken in order to reduce the consumption of it since it cause numerous issues both physically and mentally. Firstly, people are inclined to buy meals because of a busier lifestyle, however, serious health concerns occur as a result of it. Vast consumption of these foods results in not only obesity but other issues such as cardiovascular and low blood levels. The main concern of these outlets is to increase their profits, they do not care about the well-being of their consumers. For instance, it was reported in a well-researched journal posted on healthclinics.com that the majority of obese people mentioned that they often ate fast food in their daily routine. Therefore, making them more expensive might make a few of them turn away from regularly eating them. Secondly, while these kids get lured to their promotions and consume a lot of it, they start getting physical and mental issues. They do not realise that their physical appearance is changing and they get in shock after a while that they look fatter than they used to look before, thus, ending up in a grave mental state. To illustrate, many students in our university who do not consider themselves fit, are shy to involve themselves in many social activities and turn into introverts. To conclude, Although the availability of these convenience food stores supplies food within minutes in a busy lifestyle, the cost of the health concerns it raises is way higher. In my opinion, the government should increase taxes to prevent individuals from choosing these options as a means of meals.