Many people use written language in less formal and relaxed way. Does this development have advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people tend to use a more informal style for their writing due to its convenience. This tendency has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed further. What could be regarded as a clear advantage of informal writing is saving time. Lifestyle is accelerating, nowadays people are in a constant rush. Therefore, it is more convenient and flexible to use some abbreviations and to shorten grammar constructions in messages. For instance, it is common to use “btw” instead of “by the way” and “lol” instead of “laugh out loud”. This trend is beneficial, as one could spend time on more essential things than just online chatting. The next advantage is an opportunity to become closer due to informal style of communication. Formalities set boundaries, without them many people feel more self-confident and, thus, they become initiative. Informal style creates a personal, spontaneous atmosphere, shrinking the distance between people. On the other hand, language is under danger because of the widespread use of informal writing. This simplicity leads to the loss of extraordinary words and expressions. As a result, nations lose their historical background and cultural identity. The next negative consequence is that using informal writing may cause misunderstandings and misrepresent thoughts. In some cases, informalities may be perceived as impoliteness and even disrespect. The absence of formal language destroys subordination. To conclude, it should be mentioned that both types of communication are indispensable as each of them is suitable for specific purposes. Although the tendency of using informal language has pros and cons, formal written and spoken language cannot be fully replaced by informal.