Some people opine that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

It is said that excessive working hour is a factor in enormous personal and social troubles, and working time ought to diminish to 35 hours per week. There are both benefits and drawbacks regarding this statement, and will be discussed in this essay. First and foremost, the upside is that employees can spend their free time with their families. It is true that declining office hour provides some extra free time for workers so that they can use these periods to destress, such as workout or meditating, and have some family time, like doing some outdoor activities. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 80% of individuals in the workplace lack the free time to unwind a bit due to the long working period. It reveals that people need free time to explore themselves, as well as, improve family relationships. By contrast, maintaining a long duty time, workers will have an unbalance between work and life, which creates adverse effects on their mental health condition. As a result, lowering working hours provides an opportunity for employees to spend time with their families and themselves. Nevertheless, the downside is that workers are unable to form strong bonds with their colleagues. As we all know, individuals in the same workplace build relationship with each other during duty, such as trust and cooperation. For instance, research from the University of Cambridge demonstrates that over 85% of individuals mentioned that they wish to bond with their partners so that their working efficiency and productivity can improve. In contrast, with a drop in office time, colleagues have less time to get in touch with each other and thus it is difficult for them to create a friendly working environment. In a nutshell, there are both sides concerning the reduction of office hours. The advantage is allowing employees to have extra free time to do their own things, whereas the disadvantage is unable to form stronger bonds with their colleagues.