Some people think that history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understanding the present discuss both views and give your opinion

The 21st century has witnessed an unprecedented change in people's attitudes toward history. This has created two schools of thought; on the one hand, ample arguments have been raised that it is futile to study this subject. On the other hand, people object to this notion. This essay will elaborate on both sides of this issue and provide a personal perspective. It is my contention that the history that we are learning through textbook today lack accuracy and objectivity. In fact, as modern civilization dwellers, it is unfeasible for even historians to prove the story's veracity from ancient times, for we barely have any records or adequate physical artefacts. In addition, the finding of archaeologists might be futile as the signatures of the ancient civilization have been eroded. Furthermore, historians can only deduce the content of the scriptures, so they can not guarantee the probability of correctness, leading to the action that they have to patch the scattered pieces of information together. Another point is that adult's and children's education about history today heavily indicates a subjective perception. Moreover, the reason that each nation only wants to tell the latter generation tales about their ancestor's glory and nurture a sense of patriotism will create a loss in objectivity since we can not get the whole picture. Therefore, it is understandable that people feel like history knowledge is insignificant. On the other hand, history is an essential part of one's ethnic-cultural identity. Therefore, by learning about the life of our ancestors, we can gain wisdom from our predecessors to avoid making the same mistakes. Additionally, we can preserve and flourish the long-gone tradition. An example to exemplify this case is that in Vietnam, history is one of the compulsory subjects of its vital role in formulating a sense of gratitude for the heroic deeds of the heroes who free our country from colony and slavery. It is irrefutable that learning about history allows us to see a clearer view of the past. To conclude, the education of the past can not be excluded because it is the structure to build today's society, despite the fact that there is little correctness in the written records.