In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, the advancement in technology has been quite profound. With the development of artificial intelligence and other technologies, it is believed that there will be self-driving cars, buses and trucks in the future, and people will travel in them only as passengers. Although this can lead to risks of short-term unemployment, particularly in the transport industry, I believe the benefits to society of economic gains and the environment outweigh the drawbacks. Undoubtedly, driving jobs will become redundant with the introduction of self-driven automobiles. If companies could substitute drivers with machines that operate at lower costs and require less management time, they would not hesitate to lay them off. For instance, the transportation sector employs millions of taxi, bus and truck drivers who would become unemployed because of this technology. However, I believe this would be a short-term issue since people could be trained in new skills and jobs because these technologies would create a plethora of innovative opportunities and a new industry in the market, resulting in more employment. In terms of the benefits, automated vehicles could operate around the clock and be environmentally friendly. Regarding the former, this would significantly reduce operating costs and dramatically improve productivity and efficiency in businesses by performing more as well as faster deliveries and services, leading to increased economic activity. To illustrate, research studies have found that hundreds of millions of dollars are lost annually due to delays in the deliveries of goods or services because of a shortage of drivers. In terms of the latter, these motor vehicles would be designed to reduce environmental carbon emissions. This would undoubtedly bring a new, improved, highly advanced transportation network for individuals and businesses alike. To conclude, people might fear massive job losses with the introduction of self-driving motor vehicle technology. However, I believe it would bring far more significant opportunities to society and the environment regarding uninterrupted, highly efficient, and safe transportation systems, as well as reduced pollution.