In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driveless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, the advancement in technology has been quite profound. With the rapid development of artificial intelligence, it is believed that there will be fully autonomous vehicles in the future, and people will only be commuters. Although this can lead to unemployment in the transportation industry, I believe the broader benefits to society of economic gains and the environment outweigh the drawbacks. Undoubtedly, driving jobs will become redundant with the launch of self-driven automobiles. If companies can substitute drivers with machines that operate at lower costs and less management, then they will lay them off, resulting in mass unemployment. The transport sector, for instance, employs millions of taxi, uber, bus and truck drivers who would become unemployed and face financial hardship because of this technology. However, I believe this would be a short-term issue since people could be trained in new skills and work, whereas more jobs are predicted to be created due to the positive impact of such revolutionized technologies. In terms of the benefits, automated vehicles could operate around the clock and be environmentally friendly. Regarding the former, this would significantly reduce operating costs and dramatically improve productivity and efficiency in businesses by performing more as well as faster deliveries and services, leading to increased economic activity. To illustrate, research studies have found that hundreds of millions of dollars are lost annually due to delays in the deliveries of goods or services because of a shortage of drivers. In terms of the latter, these motor vehicles would be designed to reduce environmental carbon emissions. This would undoubtedly bring a new, improved, highly advanced transportation network for individuals and businesses alike. To conclude, people might fear massive job losses with the introduction of self-driving motor vehicle technology. However, I believe it would bring far more significant opportunities to society and the environment regarding uninterrupted, highly efficient, and safe transportation systems, as well as reduced pollution.