People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion. Some think that governments should build more train and subway lines, while others think that building more and wider roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Traffic congestion has become a serious problem in large cities. It is unconvincing for every person going to their work or school as it takes much more time because they are stuck in traffic. Although some people believe that in order to tackle this complication authorities should widen roads, I am of the opinion that constructing more and more subway lines would have a tremendously positive outcome. Obviously, one of the main solutions from the perspective of some people would be widening the roads. In other words, at least one person in the family has a car which makes it a giant amount of cars on the steers, but roads are not spacious enough, thus traffic jams occur. For instance, Almaty has only three lines on the road and the city is suffering from jams while Tashkent in Uzbekistan has four-five lines which is why they do not have such a trouble. As a result, the wider the streets, the better and easier is to go around the city. However, I would maintain that the construction of the new train and subway lines would have a more significant effect. That is to say, in some cities, it is impossible to fully use public transportation due to their undeveloped. Teenagers in Almaty, for example, can not reach their schools in the city centre by subway because the lines are not in close proximity to every district and the outskirts. That is why most of them prefer using buses or taxis, which exacerbates traffic jams. Providing citizens with an increasing number of underground lines would solve the obstacle of congestion because there will be fewer cars on the roadways. In conclusion, it is evident that issue of the traffic congestion is paramount, and it can be solved by the government. While broadening the thoroughfares would help those who have cars, I would suggest the expenditure on the train and metro lines will not only benefit the drivers but also the users of public transport.