Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

In recent years the forms of written communication have substantially changed. Nowadays people choose to write to each other in a more casual and intimate way than before, and this is mainly due to the increasingly hectic pace of life and the need to have instant and more efficient communication. There are several reasons for this, and I believe the advantages outweigh its disadvantages. One evident benefit to having more informal written communication in our professional lives is that it is less arduous and time-consuming. And these two factors have become essential in the fast-paced modern world, and getting things done rapidly has become key to success. For instance, busy individuals working on the same project or task can share information instantly through a quick chat, rather than write a long and formal mail chain, which requires strenuous adherence to the rules of formal register and thoughtful editing and proofreading. And this paradoxically is the main advantage of informal writing. Another clear advantage of a more intimate written style is that it contributes to building better rapport especially and one good example can be brought from the world of business. One of the recent research projects in Business Communication has discovered that informal correspondence and reporting at work facilitates establishing a cordial relationship between colleagues, management and even customers. Apparently, the organisations' employees who had been encouraged to use informal emails and reports, became more open when communicating with their teams, showed more empathy, felt more positive about their work and increased efficiency. Thus, informal written communication not only enhanced positive relationships but also boosted staff morale. One possible drawback of informal communication is that it may transmit distorted information because it seldom follows certain language, in particular grammar and spelling rules, and uses acronyms and slang. Consequently, written messages might lead to misunderstandings and require further clarification. In conclusion, informal communication has become incredibly ubiquitous. While there is no doubt there are certain pitfalls, the significant benefits of being quick and efficient, and helping to develop better work relations have led to using a lot more informal and relaxed written communication.