Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years the topic of who should be held responsible for the increased rates of obesity especially among younger demographics has become highly debatable. A lot of people claim that the governments should take the full responsibility for this problem. This essay will argue against this opinion and explain and prove why home environment and family structure, and not the government, ought to be held accountable for children's weight-related problems. To start with, leading a healthy lifestyle and providing good nutrition choices for children should be encouraged by any government. However, it is ultimately an individual family and their choice of lifestyle that has a real influence on the obesity of their children. For instance, if caretakers do not encourage active exercise and healthy diets and allow spending unlimited time in front of TV and computer screens, they inevitably expose their children to sedentary life and a risk of gaining weight. Thus, creating a home environment that models good nutrition and fitness practices can overcome the problem of overweight. Furthermore, it has been discovered that a structure of a family often affects childhood obesity. For instance, children living with single mothers, according to the research, are more obese than the ones living with two parents. The explanations for this include single-parent households having higher time demands due to the lack of shared responsibilities at home. Subsequently, a reduction of homemade meals, shared family meals, and physical activity can occur. And this in its turn leads to children developing unhealthy eating habits and making poor food choices, which lead to gaining weight. This is certainly a strongly arguable, yet a rational explanation for the children's obesity. There are, however, legitimate reasons to expect any government to impose policies such as national obesity education, school-based nutrition programs, dietary guidelines, nutrition labelling, etc. Such regulations will inevitably result in decreasing the obesity rates among younger population and increase the awareness of benefits of healthy diets. However, it is up to the family to closely adhere to these policies. Therefore, putting the entire responsibility only on authorities would be unreasonable. In conclusion, to this essay argued that family lifestyles and structure are solely responsible for the children's adiposity. And I personally believe that the root cause of overweight in children is the place where in the end everything is decided: family.