Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in cities. What are the reasons?  Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, there is a notable phenomenon that young people tend to migrate from countryside to the urban areas to study or work. There are several reasons for this trend and the influences are also multiple. The main reason is that some of them are enrolled by universities. Statistics  show that in many countries, most of the universities are located in urban areas, particularly in large and medium-sized cities. Another reason is that young generations are attracted by career opportunities in big cities. For these young migrant workers, they are happy to leave the rural areas because the wage in factories is much higher than the income of working on the farm. The fact that young people rush into cities does have its advantages. For one thing, diligent students from poverty-stricken areas can acquire exceedingly good academic scores in universities, which can pave way for their future success. For another, the large number of people moving to cities helps to boost the local economy. For instance, in many coastal cities of China, the boom of manufacturing industry has benefited largely from the inexpensive labour force and most of these workers come from the countryside. However, young people moving to cities also lead to a series of problems. Some of them have difficulty in getting integrated into the new environment, particularly when they are treated unequally. From the perspective of city planning, the rapid  increase of population exerts heavy pressure on basic facilities. The best example  of this is traffic congestion and air pollution, which makes the quality of city life rather than better. Overall, moving from countryside to cities means more opportunities for young people and their arrival can accelerate the development of the cities. However, it might bring many problems which need to be solved by society, especially the government, which has to provide a reasonable plan to regulate this kind of migration