Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school?

These days schools are offering a lot more diverse activities to their students. Nevertheless, an increasing number of families enrol their children in extra curricular activities outside school hours. I personally think that this is the right decision as the knowledge obtained in modern schools insufficient and in this essay, I will present arguments and examples supporting this opinion. To start with, educational institutions have been evolving for the past two decades striving to move away from the teaching philosophies of the previous century and mostly focusing on the development of the 21st century skills, such as digital literacy and communication. Regardless obvious benefits, this has been happening at the expense of training students in main subjects and helping them gain profound knowledge. As a result, there is a substantial rise in the number of er after- school clubs or personal tutors, who provide a considerably better academic service than schools. Studies have revealed that foreign languages schools and Maths clubs have become ubiquitous in the past two decades. And this trend concerns not only major academic subjects, but also Arts and Sports, which seem to be increasingly disregarded at school. As a result, anyone who can afford it, takes their children to Sports or Arts cubs to get trained in addition to the extra lessons in main subjects. Another point to consider is that additional classes and tutors offer a lot more personalised attention and tailored study courses to students than the teachers at schools where the class size is considerable, and students real needs and interests are overlooked. Having more attention from a teacher entails having more personalised learning process and more feedback, which is conducive to successful learning. Thus, extra lessons pay off and are highly beneficial for school students. Furthermore, it would not be reasonable to completely lose trust in schools, as they still are the places where we get develop life skills and get educated. However, it has to be admitted that the educational standards have been lowered in schools and they often fail to meet our expectations. In conclusion, due to the benefits that extra classes bring any parent who can afford it should consider them for their children.