These seem to be an increasing trend towards assessing student through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantage of exams as a form of assessment?

Examinations are a vital form of assessment in every aspect of life. Consequently, students are assessed using exams or by continual assessment. While exams can provide many advantages like providing a no-cheating zone as well as motivating us to study harder, it also comes with many cons such as too much stress and lessened effectiveness in learning. On the one hand, there are many pros that accompany exam taking. Firstly, exams taken in a controlled environment provide an equal opportunity for all. For example, examinations are taken in full privacy with invigilators so that no cheating can be done. As a result, making sure that these tests are fair for everyone. Secondly, exams with fixed dates and timings, provide us with a strict goal and motivate us to study with full dedication. For instance, when we have deadlines and know that we are going to be tested in a strict environment, we often try our best to excel under pressure. Hence, this motivates students to learn the information required in a given time frame. On the other hand, unfortunately, many drawbacks do accompany the benefits. Definitely, taking any type of examination is very stressful for a student. To cite an example, trying to rote learn the material and then regurgitate that memory onto paper is indeed a very tedious task to do. Especially, if you have a time limit. Therefore, the excessive burden to learn vast amounts of information, facts and figures can cause extreme anxiety. Furthermore, directly appearing for exams can actually hinder learning rather than enhance it. To illustrate, usually in order to score well, students often find themselves focusing on rote rehearsal and tend to ignore the concepts. Thus, in the long term, rote learning becomes ineffective. To conclude, although several pros do take precedence, the lack of conceptual learning and the increased burden of stress cannot be overlooked. Nevertheless, exams and continual assessments can be used simultaneously to enhance learning. As a consequence, producing better learners in the long term.