Some people say that as long as professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behavior on and off the playing field is not important. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is said that we ought to consider the performance of the athletes, while the behaviour of the sports players is not crucial. However, I entirely oppose this statement based on acting as role models, as well as, representing their sports teams. First and foremost, sports professionals are respected by their fans. It is true that enormous individuals enjoy watching sports games, such as the Olympics game or the World Cup. Likewise, they tend to support sports performers that they admired. For instance, the World Fencing Champion in the Tokyo Olympics 2020, Cheung Ka Long, encourage countless Hong Kong citizens to learn this activity. It reveals that fans tend to follow their role models by doing the same actions. If the athletes have any bad behaviour, their supporters might follow them blindly, like taking pills or drinking excessively. On a whole, sports players have to maintain a good attitude in an attempt to allow their fans to treat them as role models. Furthermore, sports players have the responsibility to stay perfect as they are representing their sports teams. As we all know, the majority of competitors are in a sport unit, such as Manchester United, and they are regarded as celebrities or public figures. If they have any bad behaviours, like drug abuse, it will then be reported by the news. Moreover, people are less willing to support professionals with bad images. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 80% of individuals hesitate to support the sports team, which includes a member with a negative image. It depicts that the crowd tend not to follow performers with negative attitudes. Thereby, the professionals have to strike for a perfect action so as to maintain their huge fan base. In a nutshell, I strongly disagree with this notion, as the sports performers act as supporters' role models, as well as, responsible to their sports units.