Some people think that the individuals who make the most money are the most successful. Others believe that the most successful are those who contribute to society, such as scientists and teachers. Discuss both perspectives and give your opinion.

Defining success is a difficult task. According to some people, those who earn a lot of money are the most successful. Others, however, insist that those who make a difference to the society through their invaluable contributions are more successful than the richest. In my opinion, both of them are successful in their own right. Rich people are undoubtedly successful. In fact, almost everyone wants to be rich. If wealth was not an indicator of success, few people would want to amass it. So, obviously, money is a measure of success. Rich people can enjoy every comfort and happiness that money can buy. Better still, they can also make a difference in the society if they want. Some of the richest people in the world today are also known for their philanthropy. By using their hard earned money, they are improving millions of lives in the undeveloped world. This would not be possible if they were not rich. On the other hand, scientists and teachers also contribute to the society and in some cases their contribution has a greater impact than the contribution of the wealthy. We owe all the progress that we have achieved so far to scientists. If they had not spent countless hours on research and experiments, we would still be living in caves hunting animals for food. Likewise, teachers make invaluable contribution too. They mould the future generation and equip them with the skills and knowledge required to be successful scientists, doctors, engineers and entrepreneurs. Hence, their contribution cannot be ignored. In short, anyone who contributes to the society by improving the living conditions of the less privileged should be considered successful. Professionals like scientists, doctors and teachers are capable of doing this and so are rich people. Hence, in my opinion, all of them should be considered successful.