In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that nowadays, people tend to live longer than ever before. Although this tendency is likely to increase pressure on both individuals and society, there are some manners that can be taken to mitigate the negative impacts of this case. As people live longer and the populations of developed countries grow older, several related problems can be anticipated. From the social perspective, there will obviously be more people of retirement age who will be eligible to receive a pension, which increases more pressure on governments and related departments. Governments should allocate more budgets to construct a more mature system of pensions, healthcare and free transport. Besides, from the individual aspect, people should fight for more money, which provides their retirement life more protection. In other words, this fact drives people to work hard and increases their mental pressure and the risk of physical illnesses. There are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, a simple yet effective method would be to increase the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. Nowadays, people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive working life. A second solution would be for governments to encourage immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who pay taxes. Finally, money from national budgets will need to be taken from other areas and spent on vital healthcare, accommodation and transport facilities for the rising numbers of older citizens. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.