The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to intoduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It can be seen that the increasing number of individuals suffering from extra weight is becoming a problem for the healthcare system. Certain people hold the view that the most effective approach to tackle the issue is to pay considerable attention to physical education classes. From my perspective, such a method may well be useful in general. Nevertheless, it is not enough because it is vital to take into account what one eats in the first place. These points of view will be examined in the essay. To begin with, some individuals are inclined to think that it is essential to implement more physical education classes because it is getting increasingly common to lead a sedentary lifestyle. For example, a study has shown that an average student spends 8 hours a day on screen and hence he or she does not have spare time for working out. Therefore, it would be a solution to expose students to physical activities at school. However, it is not necessarily true that as much physical exercise as possible would improve the situation in the long term. First of all, it is vital to educate adolescents in terms of nutrition. For instance, a survey has demonstrated that 65% of graduates who were going to leave their homes and live alone did not realise the difference between fats, proteins and carbohydrates. So, the lack of knowledge in the field of nutrition entails gaining weight and obesity. For example, if a person eats a lot of fats and carbs constantly. Thus, it is important to introduce nutrition in schools in order for youngsters to be healthy in the long run. In conclusion, even though physical classes are helpful for the healthcare system to prevent obesity it is not enough. Needless to say, such a method would be more efficient coupled with nutrition lessons.