Some people believe that workers have worked in a company for long years should be promoted. What is your opinion.

According to some, promotion priority should be given to long-serving workers in a company. However, there is a caveat with this view, as it does not support incentives based on performance. Hence, I have a different view, where in addition to loyalty, performance too should be considered and I have the following reasons to support my stance. Promotion based on the number of years an employee serves in a company sends the wrong signal to the new joiners. They would think that no matter how hard they work, due to their company's appraisal policy, they might not get their role upgraded. This creates a sense of remorse and eventually, these folks leave the organization in search of greener pastures. Moreover, without having a proper career roadmap, a person with huge potential and calibre might lose their interest and can jump to other competitors creating a great void for the organization to fill. Furthermore, creativity and adaptability typically take a backseat in an organization which is run by the old-timers. This is mainly because they know only about the company's tactical know-how but not the industry's current trajectory. Hence, they work with the old process which might not be efficient. On the other hand, if a team hires a person outside their organization and promotes them, new novel ideas can be brought up eventually improving the organization's performance. In addition, promotion based on tenure promotes slackness in the company as well. For instance, even if an employee's performance is poor, they stick for a longer duration and can still get their rank increase. So to conclude, in my opinion, tenure-based promotion sets a wrong example for the employees and has greater repercussions for the organization as well. Hence, companies should follow a balanced approach in offering promotions, where both the performance and the tenure of an employee are equally weighed before they can be moved to the next step in their career rank.