Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays, university policies can be divided into two different aspects. One aspect focuses on supporting students ' needs, while the other emphasizes the importance of acquiring work skills. Some people believe that studying knowledge is the best primary method. This essay will discuss both points and my opinion. Clearly, students learn skills for future employment that will help them acquire professional skills and accelerate societal progress in science. Firstly, if students are taught work skills by the university, they will find it easier to generate new ideas in the workplace. During the Industrial Revolution period, some businessmen opened technology academies to provide opportunities for children who wanted to work but lacked skills and education. Afterward, businessmen found that their kids can invent new things to make work easier. Secondly, some professional work requires more learning time, such as nuclear technology. Highly specialized jobs require more time to learn. If work skills can be acquired directly in school, technological progress will be accelerated. Contrarily, some people think that learning knowledge in university is the only way. Firstly, students can acquire common knowledge, which may help them discover various interests and career paths. Diverse learning will help students find their life purpose. Secondly, most countries or societies are diverse, requiring not only workers but also individuals with different professions such as writers and poets. If society is going to rely solely on workers, it will lose its diversity. In conclusion, there are always two sides to every issue, and this education issue is no exception. Based on the arguments above, I, on balance, am of the opinion that learning work skills in university still carries more weight than knowledge.