Nowadays most green energy is becoming ever more prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated whether clean energy would bring a bright future or pose a threat to society. This essay will analyze both sides, using examples from the Japanese government and the UN to demonstrate points. On top of that, this essay also advocates the view that the utilisation of green energy is a much better and more economical option. On the one hand, green energy is undoubtedly environment-friendly and economically sound due to the below reasons. To start with, when being used, renewable resources such as wind and solar-generated power will not produce any harmful substances which could cause environmental effects. In contrast, consuming traditional sources including coal and fossil fuels produce a large accumulation of exhausted fumes and in turn, exacerbates the greenhouse effect. In addition, clean energy is rather cheaper than traditional energy for people to draw upon. That is because traditional energy will leave waste after being used. Thus, authorities have to cost a fortune to deal with such waste. For example, Recent research by the Japanese government shows that over 60 million dollars had to be spent per year on nuclear waste treatment. While there is no doubt that the use of solar and wind power would not need such a staggering expenditure. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that green energy is a much more economical choice. On the other hand, however, the supply of green energy cannot be guaranteed stable, which might impose a burden on energy security. The reason behind this is that the use of such energy tends to depend on weather conditions. For instance, after being investigated by UN researchers, over 80% of British people living in rural areas have admitted that they failed to enjoy a 20-minute hot water shower powered by solar energy in the absence of sunlight. Such a situation is unlikely to happen if water is heated by using sources like gas or coal. Consequently, it can be stated beyond doubt that green energy is somewhat not as reliable as traditional resources in this day and age. In conclusion, although it is true that green energy is an economically and eco-friendly wise alternative, it is not a reliable resource sometimes owing to the uncertainty of natural conditions. That being said, it can be predicted that this problem would be tackled with the increase in technological development. In the foreseeable future, clean energy will become the primary choice for people in the future.