Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about the news. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the use of social media is becoming an everyday thing that could be harmful to the younger generation and misinform the population. On the contrary, the idea of this method of obtaining information contains more benefits than drawbacks, which I am going to highlight in this essay. Firstly, one of the main disadvantage that could be seen in social media, the abuse of children and sexual harrasment through news and various adult content. The reason in most cases may be accepting unknown friends without doing any background checks. For instance, many people have been financially scammed, badgered, sexually harassed from unknown Internet users. Moreover, there is a huge amount of deception that society is exposed to due to the spread of false news. Seen from this side of the question, society is facing a bad stage. On the other hand, more positive aspects of the issue could be found and used in everyday life. Social media might allow people to communicate with each other anywhere and anytime. This could help to be immediately informed and get the news right away. In addition, making new acquaintances and connections will help generate new job opportunities, for example, offer and implement new projects, ideas, and the ability to work remotely. Furthermore, the young crowd can gain knowledge about new technological aspects in a matter of seconds. Thus, using all the benefits could be a useful aspect for life, creativity, work, study. The use of social media can be detrimental and harmful to society, but despite this, the pros outweigh all the disadvantages.