Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In a competitive world like this,everyone wants to be ahead of others.A mindset like this is more prevalent among the youth of today,to get influenced by their peers and try to get ahead.Advantages may include a competitive work environment while I opine the disadvantages of peer pressure have harmed our youth more than benefiting them by depressing them mentally. On the one hand,the young people who get influenced and try to compete with their age fellows may tend to get ahead in their life. Peer pressure,despite having a negative effect on many,pushes some people into their life by motivating them. For instance, students studying in the same class,continuously try to get ahead of their counterparts which may give rise to a healthy learning competition. Thus,youngsters competing with a positive mindset may turn out to be productive. On the other hand,being influenced by others may give rise to depressed youth,the results of which are manifested each year in the form of suicides and youth getting involved in negative activities after getting disappointed with themselves. Life is not about one shoe that fits all and everyone is different and consequently has a different part to play in this universe.As Einstein once elaborated that if the ability of a fish were to be judged by its skill to climb a tree then it may spend its whole life thinking of itself as an idiot,so everyone may not excel at everything.To reiterate, peer pressure may lead to depressed souls. To conclude, the youth of our time are greatly influenced by their fellows which gives rise to peer pressure,which according to some may lead to a healthy competitive work environment. Nevertheless, clearly drawbacks of the peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages.In order to save our youth from the disadvantages of this trend,proper counselling may be required to turn the disadvantages into advantages giving birth to a young generation with a positive mindset.