In the 20th century, contact between different parts of the world has developed rapidly thanks to air travel and telecommunication. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The twentieth century is known in history for its quick pace in technological development, outstanding inventions and progress in communication, what facilitated a more convenient way of setting the contact between different countries, nations and even mainlands. Although there are certain downsides of this fact, positive sides still prevail over them. What might be regarded as one of the negative aspects is a high price. Traveling by plane was considered to be a luxurious thing which only wealthy people and high society could afford. Thus, the opportunity to explore the world, movement to another country and assimilation with another culture wasn’t widely spread. Besides, not every family possessed a TV at home as it was difficult to get one, so not everyone knew about the freshest news had happened in the world. Turning to the positive aspects of development in the media and travel spheres in the previous century, several main advantages might be pointed out. First of all, air communication helped to win the war. During the battles plains provided good intelligence with a vast viewing picture from above and served as an essential aid in fast delivering of the medicine and food provision for soldiers and citizens. What is more, elaborations in the television area made a great contribution into the education of the population. Not only did educational and cultural programs appear, but also recent news and events which made it possible to become a multifaceted person. In addition, despite high ticket prices people started to work harder and be more productive in order to save more money and set off on a journey to another country as they strived for new knowledge and experience. In conclusion, although there are some negative aspects in the progress of aircraft and media communication in the past century, the positive ones, such as victory in war, growth of intelligence and work productivity dominate over them.