In the 20th century, contact between different parts of the world has developed rapidly thanks to air travel and telecommunication. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The acceleration of globalisation processes in the 20th century led to the blurring of borders between countries, as new modes of transport, such as aeroplanes, emerged and telecommunication infrastructure was created to keep countries in contact. Despite the seemingly positive factors of this trend, there are also negative aspects, both of which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the creation of telecommunications technology has enabled people to communicate at a distance. For example, the first mobile phone was invented, which helped to transmit information over long distances. As far as air links are concerned, this has contributed to the development of tourism and the rapid movement of people between countries for work purposes and beyond. Moreover, the advent of telecommunications and air travel played an essential role in the exchange of information during the Second World War, as national leaders were able to report messages over special telephone lines rather than waiting for letters. On the other hand, with the development of technology and aviation came negative trends. Firstly, the process of environmental pollution has begun. In other words, due to the increasing frequency of planes that fly on fuel oil, the air has become polluted with various exhausts and harmful gases. Secondly, advancement in the telecommunication sphere spurred the development of spying methods and information theft, which are widely spread throughout the world. As a result, with the evolution of technology, people are threatened by cyber criminals who can steal personal data for selfish purposes. In conclusion, although the 20th century introduced technology and closer air travel that set the stage for future development, it has a number of drawbacks that affect people in the 21st century. However, the benefits of these trends still outweigh the negatives because they have triggered universal progress.