Plastic bags, bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to slove this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Plastic materials are causing a detrimental impact on the environment. Unfortunately, plastics in all forms are causing damage such as pollution and endangering species both on land and in water. Nevertheless, the higher governing bodies and individuals themselves can intervene and although may not be able to reverse the damage done, they can prevent further destruction. To begin, plastics are one of the major problems of pollution worldwide. For example, bags, bottles and plastic packaging have completely filled landfill sites, seas and oceans. Furthermore, plastics that wind up in seas and oceans such as ghost gear or other household waste, not only cause direct strangulation of large fish but are also digested into smaller microparticles, ingested by the sea creatures causing the release of toxins and as a result poisoning the digestive systems beyond repair. Thus, these animals suffocate or develop a disease leading to death. On the other hand, there are multiple solutions to this ongoing problem. First and foremost, with the efforts of the government and if every individual was to take responsibility, even though the damage cannot be reversed, it can definitely slow down or even be hindered. For instance, if governments worldwide were to ban the profuse use of plastics, by placing strict bans and harsh penalties, people would be deterred as they. Moreover, the Uk has started selling recycled bags at a cost while banning cheap plastic bags hindering the public from their use. Similarly, individuals should take more responsibility for their own waste and recycle responsibly. Consequently, if everyone contributes towards these positive changes, minimum microplastics will end up in the oceans or even in landfill sites. To conclude, clearly, there are numerous damaging effects caused by the profuse amount of plastic which ends up in the environment. However, with the correct measures put into place by both the government and each individual, these small steps can eventually lead to a positive outcome.