Some people believe that it would be beneficial if employees worked three or four days per week rather than five or six days. Why is this?

In the modern world, workers commonly have to take on an overwhelming number of tasks on a regular basis. A growing population of people urges governmental bodies to pass labour laws that limit workdays to three or four to reduce the problems related to staff’s well-being and enhance productivity. In my opinion, although I agree that the practice can be beneficial, it can hardly apply widely across countries. First, it is logical to suggest that cutting off working days does bring benefits that can be felt by both employees and companies. There have been reports of firms in Northern Europe adopting this schedule of only three or four days per week assigned to come to the office. This results in increased job satisfaction, improved engagement and heightened productivity. In some cases, businesses see higher profitability as happier staff members treat customers more enthusiastically. However, I would argue that this practice is not suitable in some parts of the world. Since communication is immediate with merely no language barrier thanks to technological advances, people from the third world like Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, now can undertake trivial tasks like sorting numbers, double-checking data or data inputting from more developed economies like Germany with far lower rates comparatively. Along with the time zone difference, these workers will have to stretch out their work schedule; in other words, they have to take up unimportant tasks transferred from countries that are likely to adopt the reduced work time on top of the current workload from their day job. For this reason, the working days in some countries cannot be reduced at any time in the near future. In conclusion, even though the concept of cutting work schedules seems promising for healthy businesses, it will not become widespread, especially across third -world nations.