Plastic bags, bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to slove this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

A few decades back, it was quite uncommon to hear about problems due to plastic. However at present, plastic waste has become a hectic problem for the environment. This essay will discuss the environmental damages which have been caused by plastic and measures which can be implemented by governments and individuals to overcome it. There is no argument that plastic is responsible for creating many issues in the environment. Among them, one of the major issues is soil degradation. Day by day, it is commonly seen that plastic waste is dumped on lands which can be used for cultivation. Moreover, the quality of crops on plantations is becoming poorer gradually due to the contamination caused by plastic. Another severe issue is the consumption of these plastic waste by wild creatures. Day by day, many news articles and documentaries are published in the media about how these creatures have consumed them and how it has caused their death ultimately. Without further delay, it has become the need of the hour to act by all to avoid this pathetic situation. The solutions should be implemented individually and at the government level. Personally all must immediately start to practice reusable items. As an example people can use reusable bags for bringing groceries or use glass bottles instead of plastic. In addition, from government's point of view, they can implement many legislative implementations to reduce the use. One direct solution could be applying taxes for the different stages of use such as at the manufacturing level and product consumption level. Moreover, for certain applications, the use of plastic can be banned such as the use of polythene as a food wrapper and creating centres for recycling. In conclusion, it is quite clear to see today that the environment is facing many negative impacts due to plastic and to overcome it, remedial actions can be implemented individuals and at the government levels. Such measures will help to preserve the environment for generations to come.