In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

Controlling children's behaviour itself is a complex topic to discuss. Many parents believe that implementing a strict attitude leads to better discipline in life, whereas other parents think young scion being on their own leads to their own self-regulation in life. I believe both options have their own advantages and disadvantages, which will be explained in the below paragraphs. Most families from conservative backgrounds especially from Asian countries trust that imposing strict rules in conduct leads to responsible and respectful heirs. To achieve this, the parenting approach has been different compared to the western countries, where children are not allowed to have many friends, less entertainment and sports activities, whereas most of the focus is given towards studies. This leads to their adolescent becoming more introverted to society. In long term, this will reduce self-decision-making abilities and strong leadership qualities. On the other hand, most western countries and modern parents mostly from the millennial background decided to give more freedom to their young adults. They believe that freedom of children's behaviour leads to self-regulation and more independence. Recent psychological research done on adolescents highlights that eighty per cent of young adults in Europe have higher success rates in education results and success in the work environment compared to the offspring grown in traditional families. To conclude, both approaches to raising offspring have their own pros and cons. In my opinion, children should be given the freedom to make key decisions in their life and a certain amount of guidelines needs to be imposed as well to avoid bad characters influencing them in the future.