More and more people around the world are learning English as a second or foreign language, even in countries where it is not used in daily life. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this?

In today's society, because of globalization, English has been an important language to study for those who live in countries where English is not spoken. In fact, it is division on this issue even among experts. In this writing, both the benefit and drawbacks will be discussed. Being able to speak English can be a selling point when it comes to job hunting. Additionally, in Japan and Korea, for instance, score on English proficiency examination such as TOEIC and IELTS is seen as the good skills. Moreover, for people living in a non- English -speaking country, speaking English unable them to work with foreign people. This can lead to better outcomes eventually because different ideas can be shared easily. In contrast, studying English can be a burden for youngsters. To further elaborate, it takes a lot of time to understand a second language even for adults to the point where they can utilize it appropriately. Also, it is often said that studying a second language at an early age could affect their mother tongue because their mother tongue is not fully developed. Even if they are able to speak a second language, both languages maybe not be perfect. In conclusion, admittedly, English has been playing an important role for many people settled in a country where English is not an indigenous language. However, it can be said that learning English can be an actually frustrating and time-consuming process for both children and adults. I believe that teaching English has to be conducted when learners are enough mature to get their heads around the difficult concept of a language and a lecturer has to make sure that the impact of learning a second language.