Some people say that the best way to teach children to behave well is to punish them. Others argue that rewarding and praising children is a better way to teach them the difference betweeen right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two perspectives in raising children, these are giving punishment and rewarding them. Some says that punishment is important to behave them, while for some, it is better to praise them. A child will be more aware of what they do if there is a punishment, however, it makes them fearful. Otherwise, rewarding can encourage them to be well-behaved willingly, although, it makes them prone to do something on purpose. On the one hand, a parent gives their sprout a punishment because they want them to consider the consequences of what they do. Furthermore, let them know the consequences and teach them the boundaries of right and wrong behaviour. However, for some people, it will be traumatic if the punishment is way too hard. For instance, people who have a phobia of dark and locked rooms because when they were a child their parents punished them by locking them in a dark room because they were fighting with their siblings. On the other hand, if the children are well-behaved or achieve something, it is good to praise or reward them with a present. It is because they will feel acknowledged and know that their parents are proud of them. Additionally, it builds good trust between parents and their children. However, it tends to make them desire to achieve something only if there is a reward and not genuine. For example, a student study well only if their parents promise to buy them a new smartphone because they used to do something because of the reward. To conclude, I believe that punishment and reward both have downsides and benefits. Thus, in my opinion, I believe it is important to keep it balanced by giving them a reasonable punishment if they are wrong and a reward if they are right so they can be more considered.