Some people think that detailed descriptions of crime scenes in newspapers and on TV can have a bad influence on the public, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely recognized that crime is a perennial issue that every society faces. One school of thought holds that sensationalized crime scenes in the media can have an adverse impact on the public. From my perspective, I concur with the idea of restricting explicit crime -related content as exposure to this type of information could be attributed to some dire repercussions. Admittedly, it is justifiable that detailed portray of crime scenes in the media can trigger incivilities. This is particularly true for the young when they might misinterpret messages from criminal TV series as a proclivity for doing offensive acts. This can be seen in the period when teenagers reach puberty, with a variety of characteristic transformations, which spur the inclination towards such actions. Indeed, recent research suggests that imitations of ill-mannered acts from crime drama series can be one of the chief culprits leading to juvenile delinquency. It seems evident that exposure to crime -related media can be detrimental to the young generation in a community. On the other hand, it is understandable why some people propose an ambiguous interpretation of crime scenes in news coverage. The rationale behind this might be that the viewers can be fully cognizant of dire repercussions inextricably intertwined with criminal acts. However, this seems to be counter-intuitive when one consumes an excessive amount of such content in conjunction with distorted illustrations by some news outlets with a view to attracting more audiences. This in return cultivates increased fear of crime and a sense of insecurity among the masses. For instance, individuals who experienced an increased level of fear of crime via media consumption may have developed disappointment in the police and law enforcement, thinking that the two parties are not effectively controlling crime. Consequently, people in society might be entrenched in constant fear of crime along with the confidence in the coercive forces being eroded. In conclusion, crime -related media consumption can have adverse effects on audiences, considering the detailed amount of information being displayed. I would contend that the restrictions of this media type are highly recommended since explicit illustrations of crime scenes can spur offensive motives and rise the public’s sense of insecurity.