Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the competitive era, life has become a race for youngsters. They are highly influenced by their co-workers or batchmates. Peer pressure is mainly evolved due to the wide use of social media. Although it has certain benefits, I believe that we cannot ignore the consequences which often get suppressed under the shelter of its advantages. It is true that competitions among children help them develop better and prepare them to face the hardships of life. This is evident from famous biographies of popular personalities such as MS Dhoni's journey, who has always fought with his peers to stand out in his life. Therefore, we can say that the pressure of doing better than others urges a child to perform well and ultimately helps them achieve great heights. However, we also need to understand that the excessive burden on kids to win from their friends has made them more selfish and isolated. Sometimes, parents compare their little ones with other brilliant children of their age which may develop negative feelings such as jealousy in their hearts. Moreover, social media has played a major role in increasing peer pressure these days. Looking at others' success on Instagram and Facebook, people often feel deprived and lose the confidence to show their own skills. It is the need of the hour for society to understand that every individual has their own ability to do a particular task, whether it is related to academics or sports. Parents should adopt other measures to motivate their young ones instead of comparisons. Therefore, in the conclusion, no doubt that competing is a part of learning, but excessive pressure may result in more negativity in society.