Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some artists are addicted to their creative products and need financial support to fulfil them, such as music and paintings. While some people believe that artists should seek support from companies, related organizations or individuals, I argue that governments should allocate some budgets to their daily activities and art creation. It is logical that those who participate in art fields have some opportunities to cooperate with businessmen and thus earn support from a financial aspect. For example, painters can design posters, slogans and special styles for advertisements and musicians can customize theme songs for certain activities like World Cup. Both of these manners can attain financial support. Besides, working with people from different fields is more likely to inspire them and cause more creative ideas. I think that is the primary reason why artists like positive attempts at novel things and goods. Therefore, looking to social organizations for financial support is a great strategy for artists. On the other hand, I can understand the arguments against government funding for art. The main reason for this view is that governments have more important concerns. For example, state budgets need to be spent on education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, among other areas. These public services are vital for a country to function properly, whereas the work of creative artists, even in public places, is a luxury. Another reason for this opinion is that artists do a job like any other professional, and they should therefore earn their own money by selling their work. In conclusion, there are good reasons why artists should rely on alternative sources of financial support, but in my opinion government help is sometimes necessary.