Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam” How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Several cities in the world have witnessed an increase in car ownership which makes them a "one big traffic jam ". This essay agrees completely with that statement and suggests the development of public transportation and the hiring of officials to deal with this phenomenon as the most reliable solutions. It is conspicuous that citizens in huge urban areas are consistently suffering from the traffic jam. Indeed,everyone starting from a certain age tends to acquire a vehicle in order to travel in the city. Although those conurbations feature broad arteries and routes, the number of cars and 2-wheel vehicles is just overwhelming. It is in fact a matter of millions of inhabitants who take these roads every day. Furthermore, an important portion of employees follow approximately the same working schedule. This is also a consequential explanation of why rush hours often witness a big traffic jam. However, solutions remain possible to overcome this hurdle. Firstly, convincing people to use public transportation would be the most viable alternative.In this regard, it will be fewer cars and motorcycles travelling in the city if every citizen, or at least a majority,makes the effort to use these collective vehicles. Another effective solution would be to hire more policemen to deal with rush hours.It is crystal clear that in many conurbations such as Casablanca city -Morocco, there is a noticeable deficiency in the number of officials who are assigned to prevent the occurrence of this harmful phenomenon. In conclusion, people who claim that megalopolises have become a huge traffic jam are completely right because it is a mundane reality within every citizen's life.Even though, solutions exist such as public transportation and hiring policemen to manage rush hours. Our quality of life is ineluctably spoiled by traffic jams, so dealing with it is a must.