Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

House is a fundamental necessity of humans. Some have argued that living in a landed house is better than a skyscraper. In my opinion, it is best to stay in a horizontal city than a vertical city. However, this essay will explore both aspects and demonstrate why its proponents are correct. To begin with, high-rise property can accommodate more people. Nowadays it is very difficult to find a place to live in a city due to overpopulation. People are also more likely to get a roof over their heads with the availability of vertical apartments. For example, Dubai's tallest building, the Burj Khalifa, can accommodate hundreds of thousands of people. Furthermore, vertical buildings are also much cheaper as compared to wider houses. For instance, the price of a detached house in Malaysia is twice as much as the price of an apartment. In addition, apartments are easy to settle in as problems such as garbage and security are handled by the management. On the other hand, horizontal houses are usually bigger in space. The public can plant vegetables, flowers, and trees in their housing areas. This also contributes to a greener environment. Moreover, a landed house is less vulnerable to natural disasters such as earthquakes. For instance, a few years ago, a tall apartment in Japan collapsed due to an earthquake which resulted in numerous deaths. On top of that, horizontal houses are more convenient for older people as they do not need to climb stairs. In conclusion, I believe that people have their own preferences in choosing a house. However, in my opinion, it is best to live in a horizontal city than a vertical city.