In some countries, Criminal trials are shown on television for the public.Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Throughout most of human history, criminal trials have been a public event, that anyone could attend. Although in the present world, most countries have private criminal trials only, there are still some countries, that make them public, and even show them on television. The advantages and disadvantages will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a conclusion. Firstly, there are multiple disadvantages to showing criminal trials on television for the public. The most prominent one is that there are a lot of unregulated children who may stumble upon a trial accidentally, exposing them to content which can be really inappropriate for their age. Another issue with criminal trials being shown on television is that these programs will attract attention to ongoing criminal cases, which will inevitably lead to a tiny part of the general population interfering with the case. On the other hand, there are several advantages to showing criminal trials on television. It helps to maintain public order, by showing the consequences of breaking the law directly to the population. Having the general population see the faces, and the bodies of potential criminals can assist in gathering witnesses for trials, thus helping public safety. In,conclusion both sides of showing criminal trials on television for the general public, have strong support, however after analysis of both, sides the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore we should show criminal trials on television.