Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In most schools around the world, students have their own mobile phones. While these devices can undoubtedly play a role in safety, connectedness and even learning, many places have chosen to restrict mobile use on their campus. In my view, this is a positive step as can be a way to fix cyberbullying and low academic performance. One evident advantage of banning cell phones at schools is the improvement of academic performance. If schools forbid their students from bringing their smartphones into the classrooms, their grades will quickly improve on the whole, because children will be focused on their learning process instead of obsessively checking messages and social media feeds, or even worse – playing online games. Furthermore, using cell phones increases the likelihood of developing short-attention span. According to a recent study, electronic devices are disrupting our brains and making us unable to concentrate, which is detrimental to young learners and their academic performance. Thus, restricting the use mobile devices at school will only benefit students. Another obvious benefit of banning mobile phones at school is reducing cyberbullying. Teenagers often share or post vicious and venomous messages that aim at bullying their peers. While it is arduous or even unachievable to eradicate cyberbullying outside school, at least some can be reduced by preventing the school children from using Twitter or Facebook during their school day. Young people should feel safe at school and not have to continually check social media accounts to ensure no cruel and harassing messages have been sent to them or posted on their walls. Due to this reason phones should be forbidden at schools. In conclusion, the essay argued why banning cell phones in academic establishments will students learn and achieve more and feel safe.