These days, the wealthy in society often throw away perfectly good products in order to replace them with more up-to-date models. Do the environmental disadvantages of this development outweigh the economic advantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are replacing or upgrading well-functioning non-essential items, particularly upper-class citizens. This essay will argue that, despite the fact they are legally entitled to spend their money as desired, I believe that protecting the earth from the soaring waste problem is a global responsibility. The main positive side of this trend is that the share of wealthy individuals is generally rising in the world, especially in developed countries, such as The US and Japan. With access to more, fundings people tend to consume higher amounts of luxurious merchandise and services, as it is thought that happiness is reflected in their possession of valuable objects. Therefore, fashion and technology companies are further encouraged to manufacture more products and even "seduce" customers with perfectly tailored advertisements when they are releasing new products. The second advantage is that humans such as stars and other famous individuals help fight poverty by donating money, clothes and food to large charity companies. The main disadvantage of this trend is that it leads to enormously growing waste problems on top of well-established climate issues. The process of recycling is both time-consuming and expensive for the taxpayers, as these funds could have been spent on urgent problems in the community, for example reducing homeless or crime rates. My personal experiences have taught me that, I do not need all the purses or shoes I have purchased over the years. In my,opinion this trend only promotes a vicious one-time-use mentality, because I think there are plenty of ways to show off your wealth. In conclusion, humans are becoming progressively obsessed with ownership of high-priced goods in order to manifest their richdom. However, I personally feel that the negative impact of this issue as mentioned above outweighs the advantages.