Government should put tax on unhealthy food to motivate people to eat Healthy food. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the authority ought to put tariffs on junk food to encourage individuals to eat healthier. I entirely concur with this statement based on lowering people's incentives, as well as, changing to a healthy lifestyle. First and foremost, this measure can create a push force toward a healthy routine. It is true that when imposing a tax on "rubbish food" such as soft drinks or potato chips, the price of these products will rise gradually. For instance, a couple of years ago, the US government imposed a "sugar tax" on all soft drinks in the US market, and the sales of soft drinks dropped spectacularly to approximately 60% at the end of the year. It reveals that the community choose to find replacements for these expensive snacks, which are some healthier options, such as fruit juice or plant-based milk. It is undoubted that this action can boost society to maintain a healthy lifestyle by eating more foods that are good for our health. Furthermore, the imposition of an "unhealthy product tax" can reduce consumers' incentive to buy high-calories items. As we all know, "sugar fine" aims to diminish the number of harmful items being intake due to the sharp rise in price. It is clear that the crowd tend not to buy a large proportion of expensive items. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 80% of the folk buy a smaller proportion of "trash cuisine" because of the expensive cost, which depicts that the community tend to buy fewer unhealthy foodstuffs and switch to purchasing substitutes that are cheaper, and also better for our body such as vegetable chips. Moreover, the "high-calorie tariffs" is effective to decline the sales of junk foods. As a result, this action can definitely help discourage people to eat unbalanced cuisine. In a nutshell, I strongly believe that tariffs have to be put on "rubbish products", as it creates a pull force to intake harmful snacks and motivates individuals to take steps toward healthy eating habits.