The widespread of the Internet gives people more freedom to work and study at home instead of traveling to office and school. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Commuting to work or school is one of the major causes of pollution and unproductive time. In order to tackle this, as it allows for remote work, the Internet has become a great ally. Nevertheless, in spite of the obvious advantages, there is a lot to be concerned about the consequences of less socialization that follows. Humans are gregarious beings by nature, so the impeded personal contact with others is a readily noticeable disadvantage of studying or working at home. Still, it is possible to argue that students and workers could socialize with family and people living nearby. This is indeed a possibility since there are community centres and other facilities where they might meet. However, schoolchildren and young students do not have their social cognition domain fully developed, and hence the more pairs they relate the better this cognitive domain will work. By contrast, if they stay home, school kids will certainly grow up with a disability. This affirmation has been extensively researched by psychologists worldwide and is therefore the main reason why kids should go to school. On the other hand, late teens and young adults already have their social cognition domain developed, thus, in this case, there are great advantages to studying or working remotely. Besides decreasing pollution and increasing productive time, there is also the benefit of more time spent with family. In fact, being away from relatives is among the most common causes of depression nowadays. Hence, if commuting was no longer needed, people would feel happier with more precious time spent with loved ones. In conclusion, on balance, I am inclined to believe that the widespread use of the internet, as it frees people from commuting, outweighs its intrinsic cons as less socialization. Nonetheless, in the case of schoolchildren, the benefits are outweighed because this age group is still developing essential skills related to social cognition.