The average standard of people’s health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people are of the opinion that the average standard of people ’s health will be reduced in the future compared to the people ’s health currently. To some extent I agree with this statement and I would like to prove my stance through this essay. Maintaining very good health is crucial for a long life. In my opinion, the diet plays a very important role in keeping people healthy. In the olden times people mostly consumed home food and were not exposed to processed food. This led to a large population of people having a long and healthy life. In the recent times, processed foods have gained popularity and consumption of these foods has drastically increased. Processed foods are made using higher amounts of oil, sweetners like sugar, and some kind of taste enhancers which are very harmful. This trend has led to a decrease in the health of people and thus reduced their lifespan. Another very important component of maintaining good health is exercise to keep one’s mind and body fit. A few years before machines were introduced, people did most of the household chores on their own which itself was a form of workout and this made sure that people were fit and healthy. As agriculture was one of the main occupations in the past, most people worked in the farms and this kept them fit. People involved in other occupations such as fishing had to manually fish which involved a lot of physical work. All of this made sure that people had a balance of good diet and exercise to keep themselves fit. With the advent of machines and IT jobs, most people have a sedentary lifestyle and this has caused an increased incidence of health problems such as heart problems and stroke. To sum up, if people in the future try avoiding processed foods, exercise every day for half an hour and avoid stress, they can aim at improving their average standard of health. Although it is hard for people to follow a healthy lifestyle if efforts are made in this regard, it will definitely bring about the desired results.