The number of people being sent to the prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful. Discuss both views.

It is considered by some that law-breakers should be punished by putting them in jail while there are others who believe that public service is the best way to prevent crimes. By putting them in prison, culprits lose their desired freedom of life, however, community service can shame people to not do any wrong-doings. Prisoning is considered to be one of the ideal ways to handle crimes, as it controls the criminal by limiting his freedom. Prison is like a human zoo, where sometimes several offenders had to live in a single cell with limited access to basic needs. Furthermore, they have to obey the set of rules followed in the detention centre and they have to do hard work. This limiting of freedom can scare any person to do any kind of crime. For example, in Mexico, sex offenders are not allowed to have any contact with their relatives and had to live in prison which is on an isolated island. As a result, Mexico now has the lowest sex-offending crime rate. On the other hand, when prisoners do community service, they can be seen by many crowds and therefore it would generate shame within them. For people who live a luxurious life while conducting various unlawful acts, community service will help to eliminate their ego and make bystanders understand how ridiculous it would be to recognize as a law-breaker. For example, in Singapore, if government officials get caught accepting bribes, they had to do 500 hrs of public place cleaning without any payment. In conclusion, it can be understood that while prisoning helps to scare people into doing crimes, community service shames people and prevent public from becoming a criminal. A government can use both methods suitably to ensure a peaceful and safe country.