Many animals are on the verge of extinction. What are some reasons for this? How can animals be protected?

According to a report from the International Union of Conservation of Nature, many animal species are dying out at an unprecedented rate, which may lead to plenty of catastrophic results. In this essay, I will explain why this massive extinction happened and come up with two solutions to reverse this trend. There are two main threats that endanger the survival of faunas. The primary one is habitat loss. Because human activities such as agriculture, commercial development, and oil and gas exploration increased dramatically in the past century, there is an increase in deforestation, which significantly downgrade local ecosystems' ability to provide food, water, and shelter to their inhabitants. To add fuel to the fire, even though strict law was introduced, massive, continued poaching is posing huge threats to the remaining endangered species. Hunted for its bone, teeth, and flesh, the number of some species like the African elephant, American lion, and black rhino is sharply decreased. Then the reproduction rate goes low as well. To address this problem, both government and customers should make great efforts. From the former perspective, deforestation should be banned and advanced technology such as big data analysis, computer vision, and computer audition should be applied to enforce the laws. For example, Brazil is using AI to identify possible illegal human activities in the Amazon rainforest, by letting AI monitor satellites image continuously. On the other side, individuals should be shopping responsibly, by only purchasing commodities from environment-friendly companies and refusing to buy wildlife decorations. Remember, no trade, no harm. In conclusion, human activities are the main factors that jeopardize the existing animals. We can tackle this problem by enacting new laws, applying emergent technologies and shopping responsibly.